What Are The Core Capabilities For All Five Mission Areas?

How many mission areas and core capabilities are there?

The National Preparedness Goal identifies five mission areas and 32 core capabilities intended to assist everyone who has a role in achieving all of the elements in the Goal..

What are the core capabilities of the national preparedness goal?

Capabilities to Reach the Goal The National Preparedness Goal describes five mission areas — prevention, protection, mitigation, response and recovery — and 32 activities, called core capabilities, that address the greatest risks to the nation. Each of these core capabilities is tied to a capability target.

What is Thira?

The THIRA is an all-hazards capability-based assessment tool suited for use by all jurisdictions. … In March 2012, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) released Comprehensive Preparedness Guide (CPG) 201: Threat and Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment (THIRA) Guide, First Edition.

How many core capabilities address the greatest risks to the nation?

32 activitiesIn addition to stating the goal, the National Preparedness Goal describes 32 activities, called core capabilities, that address the greatest risks to the nation.

What is the definition for protection mission area?

“Protection” Mission Area: Protection includes capabilities to safeguard the homeland against acts of terrorism and manmade or natural disasters. It is focused on actions to protect the citizens, residents, visitors, and.

Which is a mission area?

Description: The Prevention mission area comprises the capabilities necessary to avoid, prevent or stop a threatened or actual act of terrorism. It is focused on ensuring we are optimally prepared to prevent an imminent terrorist attack within the United States.

What are the core capabilities?

What Are Core Capabilities? The core capabilities are:  Distinct critical elements necessary to achieve the National Preparedness Goal.  Essential for the execution of each mission area: Prevention, Protection, Mitigation, Response, and Recovery. Mission Areas Mission areas differ from phases of emergency management.

What are the response core capabilities?

1 The Response mission area includes 15 core capabilities: planning; public information and warning; operational coordination; critical transportation; environmental response/health and safety; fatality management services; fire management and suppression; infrastructure systems; logistics and supply chain management; …

What are cross cutting capabilities?

Teamwork, critical thinking, and skills related to information and technology enhance the ability to transfer and apply knowledge in a variety of settings. We refer to these skills as cross-cutting capabilities (CCCs) because they enhance learning and application in most, if not all, disciplines and careers.

Is 2000 a FEMA?

This course provides an overview of the National Preparedness Goal and the National Preparedness System. … This course also focuses on the National Preparedness System that builds on current efforts, many of which are based on the Post-Katrina Emergency Management Reform Act and other statutes.

What are the 7 capabilities?

The Seven Capabilitiesliteracy.numeracy.information and communication technology capability.critical and creative thinking.personal and social capability.ethical understanding.intercultural understanding.

What are the key capabilities?

Key Capabilities are those processes and people who perform the value-added activities that build a company’s product/service offerings and support the growth of markets served.

What are the three core capabilities that spans all mission areas?

Operational Coordination is one of the three core capabilities that spans all Mission Areas. Operational Coordination is one of the three core capabilities that spans all Mission Areas.

Are used for building sustaining and delivering the response core capabilities?

Emergency support functions: Are used for building, sustaining, and delivering the response core capabilities. … Rather, Federal ESFs bring together the capabilities of Federal departments and agencies and other national-level assets that work together to deliver core capabilities and support an effective response.

What are the core capabilities required for all five mission areas?

Three core capabilities span all five mission areas: Planning, Public Information and Warning, and Operational Coordination. These common core capabilities serve to unify the mission areas and, in many ways, are necessary for the success of the remaining core capabilities.

Which core capability is not common to all five mission areas?

Health and Social Services is NOT one of the core capabilities that span across all five mission areas.

What is an example of a core competency?

People and communication skills are examples of core competencies relevant to all jobs. Specify your interpersonal communication skills in a manner that indicates that you’d be a great employee if hired for the type of job you hope to obtain.

What are the strategic capabilities?

Strategic capability includes resources and competences that a firm utilises to compete in its business environment. It can therefore constitute a firm’s strengths and weaknesses, and be a source of competitive advantage or disadvantage over its rivals.